ABOUT ME

I am an assistant professor in the School of Public Affairs and Administration (SPAA) at Rutgers University-Newark.  I am also Co-Director of the Center for Experimental and Behavioral Public Administration at SPAA.

My academic work examines the politics and psychological underpinnings of citizen-state interactions in the realm of public sector reforms.  More specifically, I study citizens’ and bureaucrats’ reponses to market-type mechanisms in public service delivery.  I also have an ongoing interest in equality in service provision, and am especially interested in discrimination at the frontline of public services.  Besides my substantial expertise, I have an active research agenda in measurement, and (quasi-)experimental techniques.

I received my Ph.D in Public Administration from Erasmus University Rotterdam (the Netherlands).  In my Ph.D. thesis I have studied the microfoundations of introducing choice and competition into public service delivery.  I have looked at how citizens respond to the liberalization of public infrastructure services in terms of their abilities to send market signals to providers (i.e. switching, and complaining), and how this affects inequalities in service provision between different societal layers.

Together with Martin Bækgaard, Lars Tummers and Piret Tõnurist I co-chair the newly established EGPA Permanent Study Group on “Behavioral Public Administration”.  I also co-chair the IIAS study group III on trust and public attitudes (together with Soonhee Kim and Steven Van de Walle).

Sebastian Jilke, Sebastian Rainer Jilke, Rutgers, SPAA, School of Public Affairs and Administration, Center for Experimental and Behavioral Public Administration, CEBPA, experiments, behavioral public administration, behavioural public administration, psychology, citizen attitudes, satisfaction, experiment, discrimination, street level, street-level, public encounter

